LA Chef Jason Travi’s first job

(Originally published December 27, 2014 on Examiner.com).

Name: Jason Travi
Current position: [Formerly] Executive chef Superba Food + Bread

What was your VERY first restaurant industry job?
JT: dishwasher

How did you get this job?
JT: My family’s restaurant in Massachusetts. My grandfather opened it in 1955, and my dad runs it now.

How old were you?
JT: 15 years old

What did you do?
JT: I washed dishes

How long did you have this job?
JT: I worked there for 5 years.

Did your responsibilities evolve?
JT: I moved up to the fryer and finally onto the line. My dad worked every day so he was
always there to lead the kitchen. The only responsibility I had was to set up my station and keep it organized.

What did you take away from this job?
JT: I learned to be organized and what hard work truly was. My dad still puts in 70hr weeks to this day.
Finally my mom made me go to cooking school, I really had no desire at the time but it was the best
thing that I could have done.

If and how did your first job inspire you to pursue a career as a chef?
JT: That is was propelled me to push myself to work hard and make a career out of it instead of just a job.
My first job out of CIA was when I realized I loved cooking and had no desire to do anything else

Leave a Reply

